MINUTES OF BUSINESS SESSION

June 5, 1990

Wyndham Franklin Plaza, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Daniel Thursz, President, formally opened the 92nd CJCS Annual Meeting Business
Session

RESULTS OF THE ELECTION

The results of the election for the 1990-91 year were announced by Ethel Taft, Chair of the CJCS Nominating Committee, as follows:

President

RONALD I. COUN (1990-92)

Vice Presidents (4)

NITA CORRÉ BERT J. GOLDBERG ERNEST KAHN JONATHAN WOOCHER

Secretary

BRENDA GEVERTZ

Assistant Secretary

NANCY LIVINGSTON

Treasurer

ARNOLD SALTZMAN

Assistant Treasurer

PETER H. WELLS

Executive Board Members

At Large (3-year term)

STEVEN HUBERMAN KEN WEINTRAUB MICHAEL WITKES

Affiliated Professional Associations (3-year term)

AJCRW — Burton Siegel AJVSP — Richard Binenfeld NAJHHA — Isadore Tennenberg (1-year unexpired term)

CIE-EMANUEL GOLDMAN

REPORT OF THE PROGRAM COMMITTEE

Ernest Kahn, Chair of the 1990 Program Committee, thanked the committee, the Philadelphia Host Committee, and the CJCS staff for their outstanding efforts in planning and bringing to fruition the 92nd Annual Meeting.

PRESENTATION OF AWARDS

—Louis Kraft Award. Irving Kessler, Chair of the CJCS Committee on the Kraft Award (for young professionals), presented the 19th annual award to Ruth Greenfield, Senior Planning Associate, Department of Budgets and Planning, United Jewish Federation of MetroWest, NJ, and Raiselle Eve Sheinkopf, Social Services Director, Sephardic Community Center, Brooklyn, NY.

-Journal "Article of the Year" Award. Joel Ollander, CJCS Executive Director, presented the annual Newman Trust Award for outstanding Journal articles to David M. Dunkelman, Executive Director, Rosa Coplon Home, Buffalo, NY for the article The Jewish Nursing Home in the Year 2000, and to Donald Feldstein, Associate Executive Vice President, Council of Jewish Federations, NY for his article The Changing Client System in Jewish Philanthropy.

Joel noted that the Journal of Jewish Communal Service is a singular CJCS contribution to the entire field of Jewish communal service—received and read by 3500 CJCS members and subscribed to by colleges, universities, libraries, and scholars throughout the world. It is the written record of our profession, preserving and advancing debates over philosophy and enhancing skills and practices through sharing of programs, he commented.

In recognition of the importance of the Journal, the Newman Trust Fund of San Francisco underwrites a Journal "Article of the Year" award, consisting of a plaque and a check. This year, Mr. Ollander stated, two outstanding professionals share the 1990 award: Donald Feldstein and David M. Dunkelman.

"Don has been a seminal thinker in the field for many years. His article points to new directions with respect to whom the Jewish community serves and from what sources future funding may come."

"David's article draws heavily on his experience as a highly successful administrator and practitioner. It articulates the directions in which we need be moving in order to prepare for the needs of our older population in the 21st century."

DISTINGUISHED SERVICE RECOGNITION

Judaism holds a special place of honor, care, and concern for our aged. Therefore, an integral part and key element in Jewish communal service is the North American Association of Jewish Homes and Housing for the Aging—NAJHHA.

NAJHHA President David Glaser offered special CJCS recognition to NAJHHA's founder and only executive vice president—Herbert Shore.

CLOSING REMARKS

Ronald I. Coun thanked the leadership and members of the Conference for their confidence by electing him president.

Ron pledged to work industriously over the next two years to move the Conference forward, so as to enhance the entire field of Jewish communal service.

Meeting adjourned.

CJCS/APA LEADERSHIP



Left to Right Brenda Gevertz, Secretary; Solomon Greenfield, Vice President; Ethel Taft, Immediate Past President; Bert J. Goldberg, Vice President; Stephanie Speigel, NACHES President; Arnold Saltzman, Treasurer; Ronald I. Coun, Incoming President; Daniel Thursz, Outgoing President; Joel Ollander, CJCS Executive Director; Jonathan Woocher, Vice President; Burton Siegel, AJCRW President; Nita Corré, Vice President



Ruth Greenfield, Recipient, 1990 Louis Kraft Award



Raiselle Eve Sheinkopf, Recipient, 1990 Louis Kraft Award

CJCS/APA LEADERSHIP



Herbert Shore, Executive Director of NAJHHA (center), presented with a Distinguished Service Award by Daniel Thursz, CJCS President and David Glaser, NAJHHA President



Ronald I. Coun, Incoming CJCS President and Daniel Thursz, Outgoing CJCS President

CJCS/APA LEADERSHIP



Daniel Thursz, Outgoing CJCS President and Ernest Kahn, Chair of the 1990 Annual Meeting Program Committee