Browse By:

Monday December 10, 2018 Login |Register

A Project of

sponsored by

Summary of 1998 Tennessee's Election Analysis

Bookmark and Share Report Misuse or Glitches


In Tennessee, the only elected statewide office is governor. All other statewide seats are appointed by the Legislature. 1998 was a gubernatorial election year. Tennessee is divided into 33 Senate districts, 18 of which were up for election in 1998, the 17 odd-numbered seats and Senate District 8. District 8 was up in this election due to the death of incumbent Sen. Carl Koella. There is no limit on the number of terms a legislator may serve. Tennessee is made up of 99 House districts, each having one representative. All 99 seats were up for election in 1998.